Little Big Adventure. Days 3 and 4.

Woke up before Sunrise with intent to make beautiful lake pictures. So naive… Deep deep fog was waiting for me. Visibility no more than 3 meters. Had no choice but to pack everything up and move on. Little Big Adventure-74

Sunrise is somewhere there.

Little Big Adventure-75Rain forest in the morning.

On the road I could see the fog from another perspective. Just imagine: early morning in rain forest, green giants on both sides of the way; windy road with many turns and all this covered with a fog. It looked like a fantasy. Like a scene from a book. I badly wanted to stop and make a picture. Unfortunately that was a Monday morning, logging trucks started their work, there were no shoulders and again, there was fog. Fog that did not let truck drivers to see me.

Little big adventure Nexus-114

Morning road in Olympic State Park, Washington

What I found interesting with these trucks — they were going both directions and both ways they were going with logs. I did not get the point. Only if there were different companies with different lumber mills.

Little Big Adventure-78

 

Somewhere on the road.

Very soon I turned to highway 101 that’s going through all West coast states from North to South. Mostly by Pacific ocean shore. It is much slower than I-5, but I liked the idea of going through all small towns. The road itself was so pleasant. Slow turns, scenic views. There was a fog almost all the time. I really loved hwy 101 and had completely no desire to leave it.

Little Big Adventure-84

 

Saw many «World largests…» on my way

Approaching Oregon the road left ocean shore and turned East. This way it became less windy and much faster. Still nice though.

Oregon is one of my favorite states. Very scenic with very different landscapes. Ocean shore, high mountains, ancient volcanoes, redwoods, the deepest US lake — Crater lake is in Oregon.

Little Big Adventure-86

 

Oregon coast.

On one of the many intersections I took a small road going to the shore. It was so windy, that I had to go only about 20 km/h. As a prize I got to a small bay with just amazing view. I had my lunch there in very cozy restaurant with the bay view. That was fantastic!

Little Big Adventure-87

A view from restaurant.

This night my campground was booked on cape Perpetua this night.

Little Big Adventure-104Flowers by my tent. 

This place is known for beautiful sunsets, specially with the Thor’s well on foreground. It took me a while to find the well. The well itself was very impressive. It’s located on the shore rock and has a connection with ocean somewhere beneath. When there is a tide or just good waves than it produces a fountain, that looks fantastic and very dangerous. As I wrote, sunsets in this place are amazing. However I was «lucky» again. The skies were covered with clouds. I could see any sign of Sun at all, not speaking of sunset. Took some pictures and returned to my tent.

Little Big Adventure-108

View from the road.

Little Big Adventure-110

A short hike down.

Little Big Adventure-113

Little Big Adventure-127Just wondering, how many ships ended here…

Little Big Adventure-137

Coastline trail.

Little Big Adventure-139 Little Big Adventure-156Little Big Adventure-166

Little Big Adventure-169

See the trees. That’s windy here. 
Little Big Adventure-172

Little Big Adventure-182 Thor’s well.

Little Big Adventure-186When it is empty.
Little Big Adventure-208

I used 50 mm lens, so had to come close enough. Couple times waves tried to cover my camera.

The campground itself was very pleasant. Many many flowers. Nice forest. A good place to spend several days. Exploring mountains and ocean shore. On of the many places on my way I will return to with my family sometime later.

The next day I had stopped for a breakfast in Bandon. On a pier, in old town I met a local guy that was in love with enduro bikes.  Small talk and he directed me to a good place for breakfast. In cafeteria I got a feeling that Bandon is populated with senior people only. I saw only one or two younger guys. The breakfast itself was good and there was a free WiFi from nearby bakery. Happy and full I continued my way.

Little Big Adventure-241

Little Big Adventure-243

Couple morning pictures from Oregon.

The road meanwhile led me to a land of redwoods. Huge, amazing and thick forests of redwoods are located in the  southern Oregon  and northern California. The trees look just unreal. I got a feeling like I was in different era and there are dinosaurs nearby. There was almost no Sun in the forest, so tall and thick the trees are. That is a must have experience for any explorer.

Little Big Adventure-247

Walking in Redwoods.

Little Big Adventure-253Sky high.

Little Big Adventure-254A highway enters and leaves redwoods several times. I messed one of this entrances, so I had a chance to cross Redwood State park twice. A short hike among the giants, many pictures and just undescribable feelings. There was a huge meadow in front of rangers station in the park. Many wild elks were feeding there. Grass was so tall, that I did not see them first. Just many people with cameras. By the time I came to the spot elks had moved farther and became almost unseen.

Little Big Adventure-259

There are many trails in the Redwoods.
Little Big Adventure-267

Little Big Adventure-273

Did not want to leave this place.

 

Evening came insensibly. That was I time to decide where to camp. I was close to Eurica — the city with many enduro motorcycles. Never seen so many in one place before.

I did not want to stay in a hotel, so checking a map, I found that there is one more Redwood park just few kilometers ahead on highway. Deal done. I was going there. I was in the park just in an hour.

Little Big Adventure-278

That was a perfect place for me. I could put my tent just under a redwood. I even could imagine this when I started my journey. People on the next site were even more lucky. Their tent was inside a redwood. It may look childish, but I wanted to have my tent inside a redwood.

Little Big Adventure-281

These small labels show historic events on the Earth with the tree growth. The tree was more than a thousand years old.

After a quick supper I went for a walk in redwoods. That was interesting, however late evening, bear country signs and darkness made me come back soon enough.  Little Big Adventure-284
Little Big Adventure-291

Little Big Adventure-294

Happy and tired I went to my sleeping bag. There was no energy for stars shooting. I could hear sounds of wildlife all the night, but was so tired, that did not even care. 

Little Big Adventure-300

Skies are still bright, but no light at ground level.

To be continued…

I am on Facebook and Instagram

Оставьте комментарий